District 1  Regatta Report

Sat Aug 11th, 2007 through Sun Aug 12th, 2007

Regatta Base

2007 Ned Hay


Report by Luis Hornos:

SATURDAY, Aug. 11: Under blue skies, warm temperatures but no wind at all we wait for two hours for the breeze to come… Finally a light 5-6 knots breeze came in from the SE and this traditional event got under way. The first race was won by Tomas Hornos. Second and third place was a fierce battle between two of the best teams, Pete Cusick and Jud Smith. Pete was able to secure second place, third went to Jud.

Immediately after came the second race. Another round between Jud and Pete for first and second place was the high note of this race. In this occasion Jud prevailed, Pete was second, John Manderson third, and fourth was Tomas Hornos.

The third race never took off. Sixteen tired and hungry sailors rushed back to the dock. Fortunately, and thanks to the hospitality of the people of the Sandy Bay YC, we all enjoyed a great time together, plenty of good food and stories about races one and two. Standings after two races showed a tie for first place between Jud Smith and Peter Cusick with 4 points, third place to Tomas Hornos with 5 points, followed by John Manderson and Bruce Engel with 10 points each.

SUNDAY, August 12: Beautiful sunny skies, warm temperatures, and zero wind made all the competitors gather on the porch with coffee and pastries for about 1 ˝ hours.

Finally the RC gave the green light to go out on a very light NNE breeze of 5 to 6 knots.

The first of the two scheduled races for the day was under way, when suddenly after rounding the first mark, all the competitors were caught by a nice windshift of, let’s say…close to 150 degrees… the RC thought it was too much of a change and they abandoned the race immediately.

After resetting the marks to the new conditions, the third and last race took off under a nice southerly breeze of 8 to 10 knots. After many changes in the lead (and subsequently on the final standings) the gun went to Tomas Hornos, followed by Jud Smith and Pete Cusick.

Trophy presentations were made by Jay O’Malley, wonderful artwork from local artists (gratefully chosen by Martha Safford), and beautiful half-hull and full-hull models by Ed Desmarais were presented to the winners.

Extremely challenging conditions, smart sailors, and a very friendly environment provided by the friends at SBYC made this event a great one!

Please make sure to schedule the Ned Hay regatta for next year. Don’t miss this one!

Place Boat Skipper Crew Sail #: 1 2 3 Total
1 Pampero   Tomas Hornos   Luis Hornos   7793   1.0 4.0 1.0 6
2 7321   Jud Smith   Henry Frazer   7321   3.0 1.0 2.0 6.0001
3 Mona Lisa   Pete Cusick   Serge Leonidov   7951   2.0 2.0 3.0 7
4 It's About Time   Bruce Engel   Will Christenson   7963   5.0 5.0 4.0 14
5 Laura   Rodrigo Meireles   Lee Dayton   7741   4.0 9.0 5.0 18
6 The Continental   Michael Trotsky   Shimi Elkon   7330   6.0 7.0 7.0 20
7 More Pressure   Josh Phypers   Fritz Koopman   7265   8.0 8.0 9.0 25
8 Serendipity   Bill Watson   Roger Sharp   8007   10.0 10.0 6.0 26
9 Rosebud   John Manderson   Roman Gotsulyak   7866   7.0 3.0 17.0 [DNS] 27
10 Telluride   Jack Button   Chris Batchelor   7565   11.0 11.0 8.0 30
11 Kimmar   Ben Cesare   Bjorn Weiskup   7952   9.0 6.0 17.0 [DNF] 32
12 Bel Ami   Thorny Cook   Mike Young   7959   12.0 13.0 10.0 35
13 Connection   Jim Kubik   Mason Browne   7386   13.0 15.0 11.0 39
14 Don't Look Back   Steve Braverman   Jim Pickering   8052   14.0 12.0 13.0 39.0001
15 One Plus Gemini   Ted Engel   Teddy Engel   7076   15.0 14.0 12.0 41
16 8080   Andrew Sieglewicz   Liz Engel   8080   16.0 16.0 14.0 46

ISCYRA Central Office
2812 Canon Street
San Diego, California 92106 USA
Phone: +1 619 222 0252
Fax: +1 619 222 0528
SKYPE: star.class.office

Star Class
- ContactWebmaster

Results - Calendar - Classified Ads - History
Districts & Fleets - Rules - About - Online Store

Sign up for eStarlights...
Enter your email address in the box
below and click submit to receive
monthly updates from the Star Class.

(Starlights Newsletter Archives 2003-2010)