District 2  Regatta Report

Sat Oct 5th, 2013 through Sun Oct 6th, 2013

John MacCausland with Hartley (left) and Dawson Cooper (right)

John MacCausland with Hartley (left) and Dawson Cooper (right)

2013 TAYC Fall Wind-up


Nine fleets and three districts were represented at the annual Fall Wind-up regatta in Oxford, Maryland. Light and variable conditions were forecast and light and variable it was! Temperatures were more reminiscent of August than October. On Saturday morning, all the boats were towed to the starting area. After a slight delay, waiting for the breeze to fill, the first race of the day was started with winds averaging ~ 5 knots from the Southwest. As the fleet approached the leeward mark, the wind died in front, bunching the entire fleet at the leeward mark. At this point, some of us were probably wishing we still had our anchors and many of us rounded the leeward mark a second time after losing the battle against the current. What breeze there was teased us as John Chiarella, followed by Johnny Mac grabbed the edge of the breeze and took off as the rest of us wallowed around for another 20 minutes or more. Eventually, we all finished within the allowable time limit, with John MacCausland taking first, followed by John Chiarella and R. J. Cooper. The second race was sailed in similar conditions but without the half-hour hole at the leeward mark. The left side seemed to pay and current became more of a factor. Arthur Anosov took first with John MacCausland in second followed by Keith Donald. Saturday evening we were blessed with the annual surf and turf dinner, fillet and crab cakes. After dinner, District 2 honored John MacCausland with a cake and a standing ovation for winning the Star Worlds a month ago in San Diego. John spoke of the race and the nerves and we were all blessed with the Worlds trophy as a dining centerpiece. John Chiarella also honored Richard Burgessís birthday and his Herculean efforts that he puts into the star class. A great evening all around. On Sunday morning, we were greeted to more wind, allowing the whole fleet to sail to the starting area. Unfortunately, the expected building breeze did not materialize as we waited for over two hours with no breeze what soever. The breeze did come from the Southwest at about 1:00 pm. Shortly after the start, the breeze strengthened first on the left, pretty much sealing every ones fate about half-way up the first beat. John MacCausland finish first followed by John Chiarella and R. J. Cooper. Awards followed a pleasant ride back to the club with the 10-12 knots building breeze and John MacCausland swept the weekend, winning the AB Streeton, leading the series at Saturday eve, the North Emory Bartlett trophy, winner of Sundayís races, and the TAYC Fall Wind-up trophy for the weekend series. Andrew Parish won the classic boat trophy with the lowest hull number, and RJ Copper, placing fifth overall of 18, won the novice trophy. Keith Donald won the tri-district trophy as a result of the combined best finish of Lake Hopatcong, Rockport and the Fall Wind-up (John MacCausland chose to climb Mount Kilimanjaro instead of racing at Lake Hopatcong this year). Congratulations to all and many thanks to PRO Richard Lippincott and Tred Avon YC for yet again, another well run regatta. Looking towards next year, this will be the venue for the 2014 North Americans, Oct 6-12, following the Fall Wind-up weekend

Place Boat Skipper Crew Sail #: Fleet 1 2 3 Total
1 Stella   John Maccausland   Rick Burgess   USA 8490   CR   1.0 2.0 1.0 4
2 8000   Arthur Anosov   Valentin Veytsman   8000   SL   5.0 1.0 9.0 15
3 SONYA   John Chiarella   Bill Gottling   8215   Sun   2.0 12.0 2.0 16
4 Grinch   Bert Collins   Jake Doyle   8063   AN   4.0 7.0 8.0 19
5 Gator   R J Cooper   Ashley Gibbon   7512   ES   3.0 14.0 3.0 20
6 Redemption   Keith Donald   Jill Lewis   8087   AN   9.0 3.0 10.0 22
7 Never Piss Off a Witch   Barbara Beigel Vosbury   Andy Noel   USA 7986   AN   10.0 10.0 4.0 24
8 585   Jim Ryan   Tim Paris   585   MES   7.0 6.0 11.0 24.0001
9 Tim's Boat   Tim Godlee   Frank Brennan   7585   MES   6.0 11.0 12.0 29
10 Black Seal   Andrew Parish   Cara Gibbons-Neff   7465   ES   15.0 9.0 7.0 31
11 Via Domani   Joseph Pro   Nicolaus Pro   8361   NCB   11.0 17.0 5.0 33
12 8067   Schuyler Benson     8067   ES   16.0 5.0 14.0 35
13 7998   David Cutler   Greg Gahlinger   7998   CLIS   13.0 16.0 6.0 35.0001
14 8209   Karl Von Schwarz   John Von Schwarz   8209   AN   12.0 8.0 15.0 35.0002
15 8386   John Boland   Ed Morey   8286   BH   19.0 [DNF] 4.0 13.0 36
16 7802   Jim Albert   Tom Compton   7802   NCB   8.0 13.0 16.0 37
17 Alexia   Elliott Oldak   Matt Joyce   7939   AN   14.0 15.0 19.0 [DNS] 48
18 Fred Potts   Fred Potts   Russ Bowler   7454   CB   19.0 [DNC] 19.0 [DNC] 19.0 [DNC] 57

ISCYRA Central Office
2812 Canon Street
San Diego, California 92106 USA
Phone: +1 619 222 0252
Fax: +1 619 222 0528
SKYPE: star.class.office

Star Class
- ContactWebmaster

Results - Calendar - Classified Ads - History
Districts & Fleets - Rules - About - Online Store

Sign up for eStarlights...
Enter your email address in the box
below and click submit to receive
monthly updates from the Star Class.

(Starlights Newsletter Archives 2003-2010)