eStarlights of the International Star Class Yacht Racing Association

July 2010 

Star Class News

Star Regattas

Class Information
Class Rules
Class History

Life Members
About theStar 
Online Store

Districts & Fleets
Class Officers

Classified Ads

European Championship photos by Fried Elliott.

2010 European Champions
Johannes Polgar and Markus Koy (GER)
Photo by Fried Elliott.
Entry is available for the Eastern Hemisphere Championship (September 8-12 at Hamburg, Germany), the North American Championship at  Marina del Rey, California on August 17-22., and the first Southern Hemisphere Championship in Olivos, Argentina on December 3-8.

Results of the 2010 Annual Meeting at Viareggio during the European Championship are online. The approved resolutions will be voted on by the general membership in December. The 2011 Annual Meeting will take place at the 2011 Bacardi Cup in Miami.

IGC chair Rick Burgess warns about the charges airlines are putting on oversize baggage - such as jib tubes. He also announces that the 2013 Star World Championship will be at San Diego Yacht Club (California), USA.

The June Starlights magazine is in the mail and should arrive soon in class members' mailboxes.

June Racing Results
The European Championship winners Johannes Polgar and Markus Koy (GER) led tfrom start to finish to take the Silver Star over 132 boats. Pictures of the event were taken by Fried Elliott. Reports on the event were written by the 2nd and 3rd place finishers, Andrew Campbell / Brad Nichol (USA) and Richard Clarke / Tyler Bjorn (CAN).

An ISAF World Cup event, Kieler Woche in Germany, was won by Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada (BRA). In Muenchen, Germany, Christian Paucksch and Christian Knoll won the Jo-Pankofer-Preis / Volkhardt Preis.

In Finland,
Joni Leeve and Akso Salminen won the HTPS Annual Fin GP3 in Helsinki, and in Sweden Erik Dahlen and Krister Carlsson were the winners of the GP III Pelle Gedda Cup.

In the Czech Republic,  Igor Sterba and Ludak Novotny won the Cukrovarska Regata.

In Switzerland, the Jungfrau Trophy was won by Marc Friderich and  Benno Degen.

At Viareggio Italy, the X Trofeo Pietro Tobino winners were Righi / Bortoletto.

At Nice, France,  Jean Gabriel Charton and Andrea Orlando won the Thor Skull, Olivier Godfrey and Dominique Giorgi won Asteria's Tchatche, and Jacques Puissegur and Louis Enjalbert were first at the last event of the season, the Trofeo Ribalda. The overall season champions for 2009-2010 are Charton and Orlando, winning the Challenge Carlo Felice.

In the USA's midwest, Peter Wright and John Baxter won the District 4 Championship sailed in Indiana.  On the east coast in Connecticut John MacCausland, sailing with Kevin Murphy, once again wom the Arms White Regatta (his15th victory in the event). In New Jersey, Andy Ivey and Mike Nichol won the Tomahawk Regatta  and Sam Hopkins with Steve Marshall took the Riverton Governor's Cup. At Annapolis, John Loe and Shane Zwingelberg won the SSA Keelboat.  In California, Avery Stewart won Cal Race Week and Jim Buckingham / Rick Peters took the Baxter Bowl at Newport Harbor.

At Quebec, Canada, the 12th District new champions are Brian Cramer and Matt Johnston. At Toronto, Terry Hofkirchner and Jeffery Imai won the LOC Fleet Regatta. On the west coast in Vancouver, Fred Dill and Mike Wurm won the English Bay June Series and Steve Fleckenstein and Rob Mulder took the Waves Regatta. On Vancouver Island, Tim Stamper and Justin Chant became the 2010 VI fleet champions

Argentina's winners of the late season regatta Copa Ovidio Lagos were Alberto Zanetti and Nicolas Rosas.

Johannes Polgar and Markus Koy (GER) celebrate their European Championship with Viareggio, Italy in the background.
Coming Up Update your District's calendar

District 1 1st District Championship 07/08/2010 - 07/11/2010
District 14 Trofeo Bracciano Star 07/09/2010 - 07/11/2010 
District 5 District 5 Championship / Lipton Cup 07/10/2010 - 07/11/2010
District 9 42nd Rostige Kanne - West/Ost Preis 07/16/2010 - 07/18/2010
District 17 First Gold Cup in Moscow 07/17/2010 
- more events -

Most Recent Star Number - 8430
ISCYRA Central Office
914 Bay Ridge Road, Suite 220
Annapolis, Maryland 21403 USA

Phone: +1 443 458 5733
Fax: +1 443 458 5735