January-February 2008

Star Class News


Classified Ads




Online Store


Members Forum
Open Forum

Districts & Fleets
Class Officers


Sailors at the District 7 Championship
Competitors at the 2008 District 7 /Championship
Photo by Vincentebar
The Star Class office has moved to Annapolis, Maryland, USA and is now headed by Barbara Beigel-Vosbury, Executive Director. Barbara is well known in the class as an active Star sailor, a former District 2 Secretary, and as Regatta Manager. The office has published the results of the 2007 voting for class officers and the proposed 2008 for 2009 resolutions.

Class President Bill Allen announced the appointment of Jack Lynch as chair of the Judiciary Committee.

Coming up are the 2008 Worlds in Miami, USA April 7-18, the Western Hemisphere Championship in Geneva, New York, USA on May 18-23, and the Eastern Hemisphere Championship on June 1-8 in Split, Croatia.

Human Interest

Two articles by Lynn Fitzpatrick about Star sailors were published recently in Seahorse Magazine. Robert Scheidt / Bruno Prada (BRA) and John Dane / Austin Sperry (USA) were interviewed on their technical and sailing efforts towards the Olympics and beyond. Lynn has also written profiles on some of the sailors in Miami - John Manderson (USA), Tomas Hornos (USA), Eivind Melleby/Petter Morland Pedersen (NOR), and Peter O'Leary/Stephen Milne (IRL).

Star gold medalist and world champion Bill Buchan (USA) was honored by his yacht club with a life membership.

December-January Racing Results
At Viareggina, Italy the Trofeo Burlamacco winners were Alessandro Lanfranchi and Alessandro Cinquini.

At Nice, France the 51st Christmas Regatta was won by Xavier Rohart sailing with Stefano Lillia. The
Championnat de ligue Cote d'Azur winners were
Graham Bailey and Jean Nicolas Bondaletoff

In the USA, the Miami, USA sailing season heads toward the World Championship in April.  The Commodore's Cup in early December was won by John Dane and Austin Sperry, Hamish Pepper and Carl Williams won the Levin Cup in early January, and Robert Stanjek and Markus Koy took the Biscayne Trophy. At the end of January. The Rolex Miami Olympic Classes regatta was won on the last day by Xavier Rohart and Pascal Rambeau in a close race with Elivind Melleby and Petter Morland Pedersen.

In Brazil, Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada were repeat winners of the 2008 District VII Championship

Podium at the Trofeo Burlamacco
1st-3rd place, Trofeo Burlamacco
bAfonso Domingos and Bernardo Santos (POR)
Afonso Domingos/Bernardo Santos (POR), 5th at the MOCR. Photo by ROLEX/Dan Nerney.
MOCR winners Xavier Rohart and Pascal Rambeau
MOCR winners Xavier Rohart/Pascal Rambeau
(FRA), Photo by ROLEX/Dan Nerney
Upcoming Events

Update your District's calendar
District 20 2008 Masters Regatta 2/09/2008 - 2/10/2008
District 5 SCYA MidWinters 2/16/2008 - 2/17/2008
District 20 2008 Bacardi Cup 3/02/2008 - 3/07/2008
District 9 Ski-Yachting (Thun / Adelboden) 3/21/2008 - 3/31/2008
District 14 Olympic Garda 2008 4/09/2008 - 4/13/2008

- more events -

Most Recent Star Number - 8345
ISCYRA Central Office
P. O. Box 4579
914 Bay Ridge Road, Suite 220
Annapolis, Maryland 21403 USA

Phone:  +1 443 458 5733
+1 443 458 5735