Happy New Year 2009

Star Class News


Classified Ads



Online Store

Districts & Fleets
Class Officers


Participants at Homer's Odyssey in Nice, France.
Happy New Year from the class office ... and a few reminders for the start of 2009.

Vice Commodore Bill Parks passed away in December. He was the president of the Star Class from 1974 to 1978, a past commodore of Chicago Yacht Club, an ISAF International Judge. a bronze medalist in the Star at the 1960 Olympic Games (Rome), and a Star sailor for 50 years

The results of balloting for class rule changes and officers are posted on the class website. And, in November, the ISAF Council chose the Star as the men's keelboat in the 2012 Olympic Games.

The South American Championship will be in Valparaiso, Chile on January 8-14 . The entry list is here.

Human Interest
Four of the seven boats competing in the Volvo Ocean Race are being skippered by Star sailors.

The Australian Newspaper had a feature article on Star Olympic sailor Iain Murray and US Sailing honored Billl Brosius and the Star Fleet at Olympia, Washington with their One Design Leadership Award.

Claus Plass has provided a video of the 1998 European Championship that was sailed at Strande, Germany.

Last Results of 2008
The last Star event of the year in Switzerland, the Lebkuchenregatta, presented its first place trophy to Christoph and Daniel Christen.

The France 2008 Star class national champions are Jacques and Jean Francois Puissegur after racing the last two qualifying regattas -  the Trophee Pinatel in October (won by Xavier Rohart and Pierre Alixis Ponsot) and the Nice 52nd Christmas Regatta (won by Diego Negri and Stefano Lillia) in late December. The third event was the Ducs de Nemours regatta on Lake Annecy in May.

Also sailed at Nice, France in October was Homer's Odyssey, won by Julia and Graham Bailey.

In late October on Lake Garda, Italy, the Trofeo Best Wind Shop winners were Marin Lovrovic and Sinisa Mikulicic. In November, Roberto Benamati and Luca Maffezzoli won the Balardi Cup. The Trofeo dell'Odio
(first race sailed on the west coast of the lake in a long time) was a long distance race of 13 miles won by Paolo Masserdotti and Massimiliano Tassini. At Viareggina, Enrico Chieffi and Corsi won the Winter Championship.

In the USA on San Diego Bay, California, George Szabo and Rick Peters won the last race of the year, the Kriss Kringle.. On the east coast, the Miami, Florida Star sailing season has started with Jud Smith and Stuart DeLisser winning the Schoonmaker Cup and John MacCausland and Kevin Murphy taking the Commodore's Cup.

At Buenos Aires, Argentina, the 2008 18th District Championship was won by Alejo Rigoni and Juan Pablo Percossi.. In Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Robert Scheidt and Bruno Prada won the Taca Royal Thames.. On South America's west coast in Chile, Pablo Gimeno Jr. and Miguel Perez, Jr. won the Valparaiso Spring Championship
and Rodrigo Zuazola and Robert Siegel are the 2008 Chilean National Champions..

Upcoming Events

Update your District's calendar
District 20 2009 Levin Memorial 1/10/2009 - 1/11/2009
District 9 Campionnat de ligue Cote d'Azur 1/27/2009 - 1/18/2009
District 20 2009 Biscayne Trophy 1/24/2009 - 1/25/2009
District 20 Rolex Miami Olympic Classes Regatta 1/25/2009 - 1/31/2009
District 20 2009 Masters' Regatta 2/07/2009 - 2/09/2009
District 7 Regata Darke de Mattos 2009 2/14/2009

- more events -

Most Recent Star Number - 8380
ISCYRA Central Office
914 Bay Ridge Road, Suite 220
Annapolis, Maryland 21403 USA

Phone:  +1 443 458 5733
+1 443 458 5735