Human Interest
Rohart/Rambeau Named French Sailors of the Year
By FFVoile website
Dec 10, 2003, 12:07

On Monday evening, Dec. 8, 2003, the best French sailors of 2003 were honored at an awards presentation organized by FFVoile and CNOSF. Star sailors Xavier Rohart and Pascal Rambeau were chosen the "Sailors of the Year".

Rohart and Rambeau were honored for having won the 2003 Star World Championship. Their award was presented by Jean-Pierre Champion, President of FFVoile, Goran Petersson, Vice-president of the ISAF, and Jean-François Communier for the Popular Bank, the principal partner of the French sailing federation,

A twelve member jury of maritime personalities, chaired by the writer Herve Hamon, chose the successors to the Tornado sailors Olivier Backès and Laurent Voiron, who were elected 2002 sailors of the of the year for their 2nd place at the Tornado World Championship and for winning the Tornado European Championship. Michel Desjoyeaux won the award in 2001 for his victory in the Vendée Globe.

Any world champion title is exceptional. Xavier Rohart (Club Fosséen de Voile) et Pascal Rambeau (Société des Régates de La Rochelle) are the first French Star World champions in a class that, since its inception as an Olympic class in 1932, has become the reigning class of Olympic sailing, equivalent to "toute catégorie " in judo. Rohart and Rambeau dominated the event, winning three out of 9 races and were either 2nd or 3rd four times. They were far enough ahead to not have to sail the last race. This is the first world championship won by French sailors since 1999, and was accomplished in an event with very high quality competition.

Only one year before the Olympic Games, the World Championships at Cadiz brought together most Olympic aspirants. Not only did these multi-class championships permit sailors to compete against other world sailors, but it was for many countries, including France, a selector for the 2004 Olympics. Thanks to their victory, Xavier and Pascal will be representing France in Athens, leaders of an ambitious French team that won two other medals at the 2003 World Championships.

Xavier Rohart and Pascal Rambeau
Chosen for winning the 2003 Star World Championship

Xavier Rohart
35 years - Club Fosséen de Voile
Star European Championship: 3rd in 2001, 9th in 2002
Kiel Week: 8th in 2002
Star World Championship: 3rd in 1997 and 1998, 3rd in 2002, 1st in 2003
Olympic Games: 7th (Finn) at Barcelona in 1992, training partner in 1996 and 5th (Finn) at Sydney in 2000.

Pascal Rambeau
31 years - Société des Régates de La Rochelle
Prize list in the FINN class
Championship of France: 2nd in 2001, 4th in 2002
Championship of Europe: 5th in 2001, 7th in 2002
Week of Medemblick: 15th in 2002
World Championships: 10th in 2002, 1st in 2003 (Star class with Xavier Rohart)

Other nominees for the award were:
Ingrid Petitjean and Nadege Douroux: 2nd at 470 World Championship
Faustine Merret: 3rd at the Mistral World Championship and 2nd at Mistral European Championship
Antoine Albeau: 2nd at Formulated Windsurfing Worlds and at Funboard
Armel Cléac' H: Winner Solitaire Afflelou Le Figaro and French Champion Solitaire on Créaline
Bernard Stamm: Winner of Around Alone and Champion of World IMOCA
Jean-Pierre Dick and Nicolas Abiven: Winners of the Transatlantic race Jacques Vabre in the Monohulls 60' IMOCA on Virbac
Franck Cammas: Champion of the World of skippers ORMA on Groupama and winner of the Transatlantic race Jacques Vabre in the Multihulls 60' ORMA with Franck Proffit

© Copyright 2007 by